Databases

Find information on health, education, social and human service agencies and programs on Long Island 24 hours a day-7 days a week.

This database contains journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.

Access a library of rich adult learning content (GED) and live, professional assistance in resume/cover letter writing, U.S. citizenship prep, MS Office Essential Skills Series, and more!

Search all six ProQuest newspaper databases simultaneously. Includes Newsday, New York Times, Gannett, and a selection of national newspapers.

A large collection of genealogy databases and census records that are searchable for your ancestors. Only available in the library.

Includes automotive repair information for many vehicles back to the 1970’s, and for a few back to the 1940’s.

Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine.

Delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable encyclopedia plus collegiate dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts,

Un excelente recurso digital en español que ayuda a enriquecer el aprendizaje de los estudiantes de primaria y secundaria.

Is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.

Contains company histories, company profiles of both public and private companies, reports, articles from business magazines and newspapers, chronologies, rankings, and more.

Learn more about yourself and careers that suit your interests. Search for careers and find out what they are really like. Find out where to get the education you need to start your career. Search jobs by zip code.

Click on Registered Users - The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research and reference source that offers over MARC records and reviews of children's books, all full-text and searchable from review sources.

Presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. Issues of the magazine. Full text back to 1991 and bibliographic records back to 1985.

As a library user, you have full access to all of the valuable content on ConsumerReports.org through your library membership, including: 1,000+ Ratings, reviews, expert buying advice, product comparisons, consumer user reviews, and product video clips; Proven product reliability data; Complete product specifications; Frequently updated information; Quick recommendations; A ShopOnline feature; 100% unbiased...because we take no outside advertising.

Is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

To foster understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content. The database is one of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference and curriculum products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas.

The premier education database, includes citations and abstracts from the major education journals with links to many articles and some full text documents.

Includes the following databases: ERIC, History Reference Center, Teacher Reference Center, MasterFile Elite, Literacy Reference Center, Student Reference Center, GrennFile, Topic Overviews for Public Libraries.

Has popular and sought-after magazines available digitally for you to read. Includes titles such as People, O, Time, Sports Illustrated, Women’s Health, Men’s Health, and many more.

Helps you find and share historic documents. We are able to bring you many never-before-seen historic documents through our unique partnerships with The National Archives, the Library of Congress and other institutions.

This general periodical database contains newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The back file extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

More than a country guide, Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference source in available in a highly organized and consistent format.

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

This health database includes journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Find Family History and Census information including U.S. federal census records from 1790-1930 plus searchable family histories.

The database features full text reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database contains historical documents; biographies of historical figures; historical photos and maps; and historical video.

Focus is on home improvement and home repair. Thousands of repairs are available in the areas of outdoor projects, electrical projects, remodeling projects, plumbing projects, wood projects, decorating projects and maintenance. In addition to the repair information, other magazines and reference books focusing on home improvement are included.

Colorful, east-to-use interface invites students to explore. Kids InfoBits contains more than 100 full-text, kids magazines, more than 6,400 images, Merriam-Webster®’s Elementary Dictionary and 1,200 maps, flags & seals and over 1,700 colorful charts and graphs.

Is the leading publisher of do-it-yourself legal documents and templates — with over 10 years experience. We have drafted over one million contracts and have helped our clients save half a billion dollars in legal fees.

It is a comprehensive database that combines information from books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Includes information about authors and their works and is intended for high school students, as well as undergraduate and graduate students.

Got Homework? Get FREE help online from real tutors. One-to-one help from 2 PM to 11 PM, everyday! Includes K-12 Student Center, College Center, and Adult Education & Career Center.

Magazines for everyone are in this database, which provides complete articles from magazines and reference books.

An index to peer reviewed and scholarly journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences with some links to entire articles. Once you find the article you want, request it from the library.

A free web site of health information from the National Library of Medicine for both health professionals and consumers.

Search indexes of national newspapers at the same time. Includes: The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, USA Today and more.

One of the nation’s leading black newspapers and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions. It is a great resource for both news and genealogy. Coverage runs from 1922-1993.

Newspapers from the cities of Albany, Buffalo and Syracuse, plus the New York Observer, the New York Times, the New York Post, and the New York Daily News, back to 1980.

Complete articles from 1980 onward including the Book Review and Magazine sections.

The entire historical run of The New York Times from 1851-2013. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Complete articles from 1985 onward.

Complete articles from 1940 to 1987. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Your solution for integrating fiction across the curriculum: With its fun and intuitive interface, and extensive feature content, NoveList K-8 will be the resource you and your young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.

Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for fiction and non-fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction and non-fiction readers and information for school media specialists and teachers.

The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Offering 80 languages and growing. Also has ESL for 50 non-English languages. Each language has a minimum of 1,500 phrases, and a maximum of 10,000. Offers the ability to learn any language in any other language — making for 4,000 possible course combinations!

Find and study businesses, locate people, conduct market research, find addresses and phone numbers...plus, much much more. New Jobs Module gives users the power to search by job type, keywords, geography, and estimated salary. Search results provide links to business records including company location, latest news, and key contact information. Catagories include: US Business, US Residential, Canadian Business, Canadian Residential, Healthcare Providers, EmployersUSA, New Businesses, New Movers, New Homeowners, Lifestyles.

Has science biographies, diagrams, essays, science experiments, and timelines.

A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content including: science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Examine the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.

Find out if a journal, magazine or newspaper title is in one of our databases.

A centralized, searchable collection of Suffolk's newspaper heritage available to you online. Now includes The Patchogue Advance from 1926 to 1948.

Magazine articles for teachers and librarians.

Full text collection of over 250 regional, national and international newspapers.

Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through this database.

The entire run of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-1999 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through this database.

Online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

Provides simple and affordable access to more than 4.2 billion names in family history record collections worldwide.